News & Updates

NIA Announces the 2023 Safety Excellence Award Winners

Naples, Florida—April 18, 2024—The National Insulation Association (NIA) announced the 2023 Safety Excellence Award winners in conjunction with its 68th Annual Convention, which is taking place in Naples, Florida, April 17–19, 2024.

NIA’s Safety Excellence Award is the only national award for outstanding safety performance in the mechanical insulation industry. The award program recognizes top companies that have established structured safety programs to ensure the well-being of their employees and create safe working environments.

NIA’s Safety Excellence Award program honors four levels of excellence: Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze for Associates (Manufacturers), Contractors, Distributors/Fabricators, and Metal Building Laminators.

NIA’s Executive Vice President/CEO Michele M. Jones said, “Congratulations to these 44 companies that make safety a top priority every day and strive to improve their safety program each year. Of our 44 total winners, we are very proud to have 34 Platinum winners, 8 Gold winners, and 2 Bronze winners. We are seeing an increase in Platinum winners each year, which demonstrates not only the commitment of all of these companies but also the value this program is providing. Plus, we are excited to welcome six first-time applicants to this year’s program. Thank you all for your ongoing commitment to your keep your teams safe.”

Throughout the judging process applicant companies remain anonymous, and winners are evaluated on the basis of their overall safety program, means of communication, and safety policy. All applicant companies receive an individualized and detailed Safety Training Analysis Results (STAR) Report™. The STAR Report includes personalized recommendations based on each applicant’s answers to the application questions.

Associate (Manufacturer) Category Winners

  • Aeroflex USA, Sweetwater, TN
  • Armacell, Chapel Hill, NC
  • CertainTeed, Malvern, PA
  • Ideal Tape, Lowell, MA
  • Johns Manville, Denver, CO
  • Knauf Insulation, Inc., Shelbyville, IN
  • Morgan Advanced Materials Thermal Ceramics, Augusta, GA
  • Owens Corning, Toledo, OH
  • Promat, Inc., Maryville, TN
  • ROCKWOOL Technical Insulation, Houston, TX


  • Alkegen, Tonawanda, NY
  • Proto Corporation, Clearwater, FL

Contractor Category Winners

  • Advanced Industrial Services, LLC, Toledo, OH
  • Advanced Nuclear, LLC, Aston, PA
  • Advanced Specialty Contractors, LLC, Aston, PA
  • Argus Contracting, LLC, Santa Fe Springs, CA
  • Atlantic Contracting & Specialties, LLC, Hicksville, NY
  • Cornerstone Services Group, LLC, Omaha, NE
  • DKB, Inc., Pasco, WA
  • Gagnon, Inc., St. Paul, MN
  • Gribbins Insulation Company, Inc., Evansville, IN
  • I&I, Harahan, LA
  • I-Star Energy Solutions, Quarryville, PA
  • JTThorpe Industrial, Inc., Phoenix, AZ
  • KW Specialty Services, LLC, St. Paul, MN
  • L.C. Insulations, Inc., Lititz, PA
  • Performance Contracting, Inc., Lenexa, KS
  • Summit Contracting, LLC, Portland, OR
  • Thermal Solutions, Inc., Proctorville, OH


  • Brock Industrial Services, LLC, Joliet, IL
  • Farwest Insulation Contracting, Anaheim, CA
  • F & H Insulation Sales and Services, Inc., Kechi, KS
  • International Asbestos Removal, Inc., Babylon, NY
  • Luse Thermal Technologies, Aurora, IL
  • TBN Associates, Inc., Lanham, MD


  • Kerco, Inc., Santa Fe Springs, CA
  • Southern Insulation, Inc., Hyattsville, MD

Distributor/Fabricator Category Winners

  • Bay Insulation Supply, Inc., Green Bay, WI
  • Distribution International, Inc., Houston, TX
  • Extol of Ohio, Inc., Norwalk, OH
  • Shannon Global Energy Solutions, Inc., North Tonawanda, NY
  • Specialty Products & Insulation, Charlotte, NC

Metal Building Laminator Category Winners

  • Bay Insulation Systems, Inc., Green Bay, WI
  • Silvercote, A Distribution International Company, Greenville, SC

For more information about the NIA Safety Program, please contact the NIA office or visit the website listed below.

An archive of past award winners is available at

Applications for the 2024 Safety Excellence Award will be available on NIA’s website ( later this year.