News & Updates

NIA Announces the 2021 Safety Excellence Award Winners

Herndon, Virginia—March 31, 2022—The National Insulation Association (NIA) announced the 2021 Safety Excellence Award winners in conjunction with its 66th Annual Convention, which is taking place in San Antonio, Texas, March 30–April 1, 2022.

NIA’s Safety Excellence Award is the only national award for outstanding safety performance in the mechanical insulation industry. NIA created the award program more than a decade ago to recognize top companies that have established structured safety programs to ensure the well-being of their employees and create safe working environments.

NIA’s Safety Excellence Award program honors four levels of excellence: Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze for Associates (Manufacturers), Contractors, Distributors/Fabricators, and Metal Building Laminators.

NIA’s Executive Vice President/CEO Michele M. Jones said, “Safety is an enduring cornerstone of our industry, and we are extremely proud to welcome 3 new applicants and to honor 31 Platinum winners, 9 Gold winners, 2 Silver winners, and 4 Bronze winners this year. Each one of these NIA member companies prioritizes a culture of safety and seeks to make continuous improvements to their program. The growing number of Platinum winners is a testament to the value of their continued participation and growth stemming from the STAR Report.”

Throughout the judging process, applicant companies remain anonymous and winners are evaluated on the basis of their overall safety program, means of communication, and safety policy. All applicant companies receive an individualized and detailed Safety Training Analysis Results (STAR) Report™. The STAR Report includes personalized recommendations based on each applicant’s answers to the application questions.

Associate (Manufacturer) category winners are:


  • Armacell, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Johns Manville, Denver, CO
  • Knauf Insulation, Inc., Shelbyville, IN
  • Owens Corning, Toledo, OH
  • Proto Corp., Clearwater, FL


  • CertainTeed, Malvern, PA
  • ROCKWOOL Technical Insulation, Milton, ON, Canada


  • Polyguard Products, Inc., Ennis, TX


Contractor category winners are:


  • Advanced Industrial Services, LLC, Toledo, OH
  • Advanced Nuclear, LLC, Quarryville, PA
  • Advanced Specialty Contractors, LLC, Aston, PA
  • Apache Industrial Services, Inc., Houston, TX
  • APi Construction Co., New Brighton, MN
  • Argus Contracting, LLC, Santa Fe Springs, CA
  • Atlantic Contracting & Specialties, LLC, Hicksville, NY
  • Cornerstone Services Group, LLC, Omaha, NE
  • DKB, Inc., Pasco, WA
  • Farwest Insulation Contracting, Anaheim, CA
  • F & H Insulation Sales and Services, Inc., Kechi, KS
  • Gribbins Insulation Co., Inc., Evansville, IN
  • Hawkeye Insulation Specialists, Inc., Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Insulations, Inc., Harahan, LA
  • Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Co., Davenport, IA
  • I-Star Energy Solutions, Quarryville, PA
  • Liberty Industrial Group, Phoenix, AZ
  • Luse Thermal Technologies, Aurora, IL
  • Performance Contracting, Inc., Lenexa, KS
  • QCI Thermal Systems, Inc., Iowa City, IA
  • Summit Contracting, LLC, Portland, OR
  • Thermal Solutions─Ohio, Inc., Proctorville, OH



  • Gagnon, Inc., Paul, MN
  • Geo. V. Hamilton, Inc., McKees Rocks, PA
  • L.C. Insulations, Inc., Lititz, PA



  • All-Temp, Inc., Kansas City, MO
  • Angel’s Insulation Sales & Services, Inc., Oakland, FL
  • International Asbestos Removal, Inc., Babylon, NY
  • TBN Associates, Inc., Lanham, MD


Distributor/Fabricator category winners are:


  • Bay Insulation Systems, Inc., Green Bay, WI
  • Extol of Ohio, Inc., Norwalk, OH
  • Specialty Products & Insulation, Charlotte, NC



  • American Mechanical Insulation Sales, Inc., Farmington Hills, MI
  • Distribution International, Inc., Houston, TX
  • Geo. V. Hamilton, Inc., McKees Rocks, PA



  • Coverflex Manufacturing, Inc., Houston, TX

Metal Building Laminator category winners are:


  • Bay Insulation Systems, Inc., Green Bay, WI



  • Silvercote, A Distribution International Co., Greenville, SC


An archive of past award announcements is available at

Applications for the 2022 Safety Excellence Award will be available on NIA’s website ( and are due on September 1, 2022.