NIA Announces the 2020 Safety Excellence Award Winners

May 1, 2021

Each year, NIA honors a select group of members with its Safety Excellence Award, which is the only national award for outstanding safety performance in the mechanical insulation industry. To recognize top companies that have established structured safety programs to ensure the well-being of their employees and create safe working environments, NIA created this award more than a decade ago.

NIA’s Executive Vice President/CEO Michele M. Jones said, “In a year like no other, we are extremely proud to have a new record of 33 Platinum winners and to welcome 1 new first-time applicant. Each year, we honor our member companies that prioritize safety and make continuous improvements to their programs, and this year, we do so knowing that a strong and well-communicated safety program is more important than ever.”

Throughout the judging process, applicant companies remain anonymous, and winners are evaluated on the basis of their overall safety program, means of communication, and safety policy. All applicant companies receive an individualized and detailed Safety Training Analysis Results (STAR) Report™. The STAR Report includes personalized recommendations based on each applicant’s answers to the application questions.

NIA’s Safety Excellence Award program honors four levels of excellence—Platinum, Gold,
Silver, and Bronze—for four categories of NIA membership: Associates (Manufacturers),
Contractors, Distributors/Fabricators, and Metal Building Laminators. NIA announced
the 2020 Safety Excellence Award winners in conjunction with its Virtual Spring Summit, which took place online March 16–18, 2021. Looking ahead, NIA will recognize each company at its in-person 65th Annual Convention, taking place October 26–28, 2021,
at the MGM National Harbor.

Congratulations to these NIA Member companies

Associate (Manufacturer) Category Winners

Polyguard Products, Inc., Ennis, TX
Proto Corp., Clearwater, FL
Armacell, Chapel Hill, NC
CertainTeed Corp., Malvern, PA
Dyplast Products, LLC, Miami, FL
Johns Manville, Denver, CO
Owens Corning, Toledo, OH
ROCKWOOL Technical Insulation, Milton, ON, Canada

Contractor category winners

BrandSafway Services, LLC, Kennesaw, GA
F & H Insulation Sales and Services, Inc., Kechi, KS
Geo. V. Hamilton, Inc., McKees Rocks, PA
Industrial Construction & Engineering Co., Saint Peters, MO
Insulations, Inc., Harahan, LA
Advanced Industrial Services, LLC, Toledo, OH
Advanced Nuclear, LLC, Greenwood, IN
Advanced Specialty Contractors, LLC, Aston, PA
Argus Contracting, LLC, Santa Fe Springs, CA
Atlantic Contracting & Specialties, LLC, Hicksville, NY
Cornerstone Services Group, LLC, Omaha, NE
DKB, Inc., Pasco, WA
Farwest Insulation Contracting, Anaheim, CA
Gagnon, Inc., St. Paul, MN
Gribbins Insulation Co., Inc., Evansville, IN
Hawkeye Insulation Specialists, Inc., Cedar Rapids, IA
Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Co., Davenport, IA
I-Star Energy Solutions, Quarryville, PA
L.C. Insulations, Inc., Lititz, PA
Liberty Industrial Group, Phoenix, AZ
Luse Thermal Technologies, Aurora, IL
Performance Contracting, Inc., Lenexa, KS
QCI Thermal Systems, Inc., Iowa City, IA
Summit Contracting, LLC, Portland, OR
Thermal Solutions–Ohio, Inc., Proctorville, OH

Distributor/Fabricator category winners

Geo. V. Hamilton, Inc., McKees Rocks, PA
Thermaxx, LLC, West Haven, CT
American Mechanical Insulation Sales, Inc., Farmington Hills, MI
Bay Insulation Systems, Inc., Green Bay, WI
Distribution International, Inc., Houston, TX
Extol of Ohio, Inc., Norwalk, OH
Shook & Fletcher Insulation Co., Birmingham, AL
Specialty Products & Insulation, Charlotte, NC

Metal Building Laminator category winners

Silvercote, a Distribution International Co., Greenville, SC
Bay Insulation Systems, Inc., Green Bay, WI


Applications for the 2021 Safety Excellence Awards are now available on NIA’s website

Safety Award Applications Due:
September 1, 2021

Winners Announced:
NIA’s 66th Annual Convention, March 30–April 1, 2022